Palawan 3-way split plebiscite: Low turnout, a ‘No’ in Kalayaan Island

Pag-asa Island

PUERTO PRINCESA CITY—Only 63 out of 281 registered voters in Kalayaan, the island municipality of Palawan at the West Philippine Sea, took part in Saturday’s plebiscite which will determine whether or not the province will be divided into three.

Based on partial unofficial count of Parish Pastoral Council for Responsible Voting (PPCRV), 41 Kalayaan residents were against the division of Palawan.

20 voted for the three-way split. Two votes were declared invalid.

On Saturday, Republic Act 11259, or the law dividing Palawan into three provinces namely Palawan Del Norte, Palawan Del Sur, and Palawan Oriental, was put under scrutiny through the plebiscite.

Should the province be divided into three, Kalayaan will be absorbed by the mother province, Palawan Del Sur.

Kalayaan has two clustered precincts in its lone village on the Pag-asa Island.

Reporting by Albert Rovic Tan

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s