39 party-list groups face cancellation of registration

AdChoiceTV News — At least 39 party-list organizations may no longer be allowed to participate in the May 2022 general elections, the Commission on Elections (Comelec) announced over the weekend.

The Comelec has notified the party-list groups that their registrations are being considered for cancellation.

Under Republic Act 7941 or the Party-List System Act, the Comelec may cancel the registration of party-list coalitions that failed to participate in the last two preceding elections or failed to obtain at least two percent of votes cast.

These groups are Alay Buhay, Ating Koop, AVE, Abakada, Banat, Abamin, Append, Ang Nars, Tao Muna, Ako An Bisaya, Anupa, Consla, ASEAN, Amepa OFW, FICTAP, Global, KMM, Metro, PM, Samako, Sinag, Ito Ang Tama, Tinderong Pinoy, TRICAP, UNIDO, ALL-FISH, Awake, Kamais, PBB and 1-Ahapo.

Party-list groups Ading, 1-AAMOVER, Ang Pamilya, AG, Alagad, ANAD, Kakusa, Kalikasan and 1-Aani did not participate in the last two elections.

Earlier, the poll body issued a resolution directing party-list organizations to file a manifestation of intent to join next year’s elections.

A total of 182 party-list organizations registered for the 2019 polls, the Comelec said. Of the number, only 134 groups were allowed to join the elections. — via Irvin Chua

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s